part of track






Contact Us

The second Symphony of Peter Tchaikovsky is partly an example of a popular trend of the time: to include in serious concert works characteristics of indigenous folk music. The folk melodies utilized in this symphony are of Ukrainian origin.  They can be heard in the introduction to the first movement, the main theme of the second, and the introduction to the final movement.
   Tchaikovsky's Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 48, consists of four movements: Pezzo in forma di sonatina, Valse, Elegia, and Finale; altogether the parts create a small symphony.

P. Tchaikovsky
(1840 - 1893)

       Symphony No. 2 in C minor, Op. 17 (second version)
   1. Andante sostenuto.  Allegro vivo - 10:38
   2. Andante marciale, quas moderato - 8:24
   3. Scherzo.  Allegro molto vivace - 4:57
   4. Finale. Moderato assai. Allegro vivo - 10:17

       Serenade for String Orchestra in C major, Op. 48
   5. Pezzo in forma di sonatina. Andante non troppo. Allegro moderato - 11:20
   6. Valse. Moderato, dolce e molto grazioso - 3:43
   7. Elegia, larghetto elegiaco - 10:02
   8. Finale (Thema Russo). Andante. Allegro con spirito - 7:48

             Total time - 67:09

The USSR Symphony Orchestra
Evgeni Svetlanov, conductor