part of track





Contact Us

     The majority of J. S. Bach's cantatas (approximately 200) were written on sacred texts.  Cantata "Jesu, der du meine Seele" was based on a sacred song by Johan Rist written in 1641 and then rearranged by an unknown author.  Cantata "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme" was written to be performed on the 27th Sunday after Easter.
     The recording of J. S. Bach's Cantatas BWV 78 and 140 was made at the "December Nights" festival of 1987, which was dedicated to the music of J. S. Bach, in the Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts.  The USSR People's Artist, pianist Svyatoslav Richter, was the founder and organizer of this festival.

J. S. Bach
(1685 - 1750)

Cantata Jesu, der du Meine Seele, BWV 78 - 27:25
1. Jesu, der du Meine Seele (chorus)
2. Wir Eilen mit Schwachen, Doch Emsigen Schritten (duet of soprano and alto)
3. Ach! Ich bin ein Kind der Sunden (tenor's recitative)
4. Dein Blut, so Meine Schuld Durchstreicht (tenor's aria)
5. Die Wunden, Nagel, Kron und Grab (bass' recitative)
6. Nun, du Wirst Mein Gewissen Sftllen (bass' aria)
7. Herr! Ich Glaube, Hilf mir Schwachen (chorale)

Cantata Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns die Stimme, BWV 140 - 32:00
8. Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns die Stimme (chorus)
9. Er Kommt, der Braut'gam Kommt (tenor's recitative)
10. Wann Kommst du, Mein Heil (duet of soprano and tenor)
11. Zion Nort die Wachter Singen (chorale, tenor)
12. So Geh Herein zu mir, Du mir Erwahlte Braut! (bass' recitative)
13. Mein Freund ist Mein! (duet of soprano and bass)
14. Gloria Sei dir Gesungen (chorale)

Total Time - 59:25

In German

Nelly Lee, soprano
Irina Shikina, alto (1)
Janis Sprogis, tenor
Mali Palm, bass
The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
Artistic Director - Tonu Kaljuste
The Lituanian Chamber Orchestra
Conductor - Saulius Sondeckis
Recorded live at the Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts on Deceber 14 (1), and 16th(2), 1987 (digitally)